HTML5 Introduction - Tutorials

  1. HTML5 is a cooperation between the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) and the Web Hypertext Application Technology Working Group (WHATWG).
  2. WHATWG was working with web forms and applications, and W3C was working with XHTML 2.0. In 2006, they decided to cooperate and create a new version of HTML.
  3. Some rules for HTML5 were established:

  • New features should be based on HTML, CSS, DOM, and JavaScript
  • Reduce the need for external plugins (like Flash)
  • Better error handling
  • More markup to replace scripting
  • HTML5 should be device independent
  • The development process should be visible to the public

HTML and Previous Versoin

HTML5 will be the new standard for HTML.
The previous version of HTML, HTML 4.01, came in 1999. The web has changed a lot since then.
HTML5 is still a work in progress. However, the major browsers support many of the new HTML5 elements and APIs.

Minimum HTML5 Document

<!DOCTYPE html>
<title>Title of the document</title>

The content of the document......


New Features Introduced in HTML5

Features included in HTML5 are as follows :

  • The <canvas> element for 2D drawing.
  • The <video> and <audio> elements for media playback.
  • Support for local storage.
  • New content-specific elements, like <article>, <footer>, <header>, <nav>, <section>.
  • New form controls, like calendar, date, time, email, url, search.

Browser Support for HTML5 

HTML5 is not yet an official standard, and no browsers have full HTML5 support.
But all major browsers (Safari, Chrome, Firefox, Opera, Internet Explorer) continue to add new HTML5 features to their latest versions.


Post a Comment